Hardwire dashcam install Polo 6R/6C DIY

Post Instructions on DIY modifications here - use all information with caution!
6RPotentialBuyer
Getting There!
Drives: Candy White Polo 6R

Hardwire dashcam install Polo 6R/6C DIY

Post by 6RPotentialBuyer »

Just thought I'd post a guide on how to hardwire your dashcam into your Polo. I'm not a professional in anyway I just followed a few YouTube videos. It has worked very well for me and since the install I have had no issues :D

Here's what you need.
12V to 5V USB converter
"Add a fuse" or "Piggy back fuse" (Same thing)
Crimp connectors and crimping tool or soldering iron.
Dashcam and a long power cable.

This is what the wired set up looks like with all parts.

You plug the USB into the USB for the dashcam. The red wire is connected to the "Add a Fuse" and the black wire is grounded. I connected mine to a screw.

Here's what mine looks like. (Sorry for the rubbish images)
Plug the add a fuse into the fusebox under the steering wheel. I plugged mine into the "rear window wiper motor" fuse (This fuse works with the ignition, so when you turn the key the camera automatically starts recording, and when you turn the car off it stops recording and turns off). A list of all fuses can be found here http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attachmen ... -fuses.pdf

I grounded it to this screw. I tucked the converter and excess wiring here because it is out of sight.

Now you need to run the wiring up. I put mine up the rubber seal the runs along the side of the car. The cable doesn't get crushed here and it is always out of sight.

This is a diagram of where I ran my wire. (Wire in red) It just goes up the rubber real and then goes across the A pillar (Just needs to be pulled lightly and tucked under, no need to pull it off) it's then tucked under the headliner and goes to my dashcam.

This is what the wire looks like coming from the headliner.