Brake discs so heavily corroded on 2 year old VW POLO Match 1.2 TSI 90 PS that they need replacing at service

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
JMB
New
Drives: Polo MAtch 1.2 TSI 90 PS 5

Brake discs so heavily corroded on 2 year old VW POLO Match 1.2 TSI 90 PS that they need replacing at service

Post by JMB »

Evening,

Today my 2 year old Polo Match 1.2 TSI 90PS, (2 year old to the week) returned to the VW dealership from whence it was purchased brand new, for its second service.
I'm no car techie, but would value you guys' opinions. The video came back that the front brake discs were corroded, and the rear brake discs so badly corroded that they need replacing, together with the pads, naturally. My car has done 13055 miles in the two years, on the same roads that served me well on my previous Polo which I bought from new and drove for over 10 years, and didn't have brake discs replaced at the two year service! It's only me that drives the car too. I've driven VWs for over 25 years.
Am I right to be feeling brake discs being replaced due to corrosion at two years of age is unacceptable? It cost me an extra £242.93 for the discs and pads. I've written to the branch service manager about my concerns, but want to be armed with a suitable reply when he gets back to me.
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110

Re: Brake discs so heavily corroded on 2 year old VW POLO Match 1.2 TSI 90 PS that they need replacing at service

Post by RUM4MO »

Hi, I missed seeing this as it is in the chassis area of the forum, feel it is best to open new threads in the main area for your model of Polo, which should be the 6R/6C Polo area for your car.

Okay, back to your issue, yes I think that it is shocking your discs need replacing at this age.