Auto not returning to idle

Chat about your facelift 9n3 Polo - Including the 9N3 Polo GTI!
Post Reply
Jiffy
New
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:09 am
Drives: 1.4 auto
Location: South wales

Auto not returning to idle

Post by Jiffy » Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:40 pm

1.4 auto, 07
Occasionally when stopping the revs don't return to 500,
But stay at 1000 when stopped,
If I put it into Nuteral and tap the throttle it returns to 500 idle,
Only happening 1 in 5 stops,
Very annoying,
Any advice would be appreciated

Andy Beats
Platinum Member
Posts: 1242
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:12 pm
Drives: Polo Beats 2018 1.0tsi 95bhp
Location: aberdeen

Re: Auto not returning to idle

Post by Andy Beats » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:41 pm

God, this can be so many things..... :cry:
It can be air leaking into inlet, it can be a faulty MAF, it can be a faulty throttle body, it can be a faulty throttle sensor.
Really need to get it onto a reader and see if there's a fault code.

Jiffy
New
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:09 am
Drives: 1.4 auto
Location: South wales

Re: Auto not returning to idle

Post by Jiffy » Sat Apr 13, 2019 9:43 pm

Thanks for the advice,
Put it on a reader,
No codes stored or shown,
Anybody had this problem?

RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 4020
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:12 pm
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110
Location: Mid Lothian

Re: Auto not returning to idle

Post by RUM4MO » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:25 am

Being an auto, there will also be a load sensor I think, so that will be monitoring the inlet depression, so maybe a leaking pipe there or a faulty load sensor.
Does this car change up/down as expected ?
Does the speedo work okay and I think that all modern cars need to be able to work out when the car has stopped moving?

Edit:- it does sound a bit like the throttle pedal positional sensor, if you had a good VW Group compliant diagnostic tool, you could watch the throttle response changing while pressing the pedal and in doing that work out if the throttle sensor was okay or not. I think that some people have managed to clean them up enough to get back working reliably.

Post Reply