Show me your head unit

Chat about your facelift 9n3 Polo - Including the 9N3 Polo GTI!
PugBrothers
Getting There!
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:15 am
Drives: Mk7 (9n3) 1.4Tdi Bluemotion 1
Location: Bristol

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by PugBrothers » Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:59 pm

You should’ve posted on here sooner mate, I think I had enough headaches figuring out mine for everyone!

Let me know how it goes when it’s all fitted in. Hopefully there aren’t any issues with battery drain or any of that but if there it’s just a case of buying a fancier canbus. You’ll be alright.

Good luck!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnoopyD
New
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:46 pm
Drives: 9N3
Location: London

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by SnoopyD » Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:01 pm

PugBrothers wrote:
Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:28 pm
I did mate, it all works brilliantly. Dead chuffed with it. No messing around with any wires at all, other than hooking in the harness and grounding the green handbrake cable. But that was dead easy. Are you thinking of giving it a go?

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I’m planning on installing a similar large screen Android Auto/Car Play head unit into an ‘07 9N3 soon too so hoping you/someone can help with a couple of initial questions. Did your more expensive CANbus adapter still require the green handbrake cable be grounded elsewhere? Where did you end up grounding to too (assume splice into adapter or to a frame point)?

PugBrothers
Getting There!
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:15 am
Drives: Mk7 (9n3) 1.4Tdi Bluemotion 1
Location: Bristol

Show me your head unit

Post by PugBrothers » Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:23 pm

Hiya! The canbus adapter takes care of literally everything, so there’s no need to find any grounding points in that respect. The pioneer head unit has a green handbrake cable, and I connected that to the black ground / earth cable on the back of the unit. I can really recommend the method I mentioned above. Had absolutely no problems at all and the install was problem free!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnoopyD
New
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:46 pm
Drives: 9N3
Location: London

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by SnoopyD » Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:48 pm

PugBrothers wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:23 pm
Hiya! The canbus adapter takes care of literally everything, so there’s no need to find any grounding points in that respect. The pioneer head unit has a green handbrake cable, and I connected that to the black ground / earth cable on the back of the unit. I can really recommend the method I mentioned above. Had absolutely no problems at all and the install was problem free!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Great, thanks for confirming. I’ve been looking at one of the cheaper (but still pricey!) Sony units (XAV-AX100 or -AX3005) which have the handbrake wire too, hence the questions. Did I see in another of your recent posts that you didn’t need any adapters for the Pioneer 7” wide unit too? Not even an aftermarket fascia?

Trying to decide whether the cost for the screen is worth it vs a cheap single DIN BT only unit. Will tally up the costs and might be back with a few more qs if I settle on it, thanks.

SnoopyD
New
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:46 pm
Drives: 9N3
Location: London

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by SnoopyD » Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:56 pm

Another simple question - where did you end up routing your USB port? Just trying to establish the neatest way to do this.

User avatar
alexperkins
Site Admin
Posts: 14761
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:29 pm
Drives: 91 Golf GTI, 01 TT 225, 67 Q7
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK.
Contact:

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by alexperkins » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:52 am

When I did this, I brought it out to the right under the steering wheel on the little shelf so I could plug my phone in and leave it there

PugBrothers
Getting There!
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:15 am
Drives: Mk7 (9n3) 1.4Tdi Bluemotion 1
Location: Bristol

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by PugBrothers » Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:17 am

Exactly what Alex said - you can feed the usb out of a gap that’s located to the left of the clutch, and lots of trim you hide wiring in. That little shelf is dead handy though!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnoopyD
New
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:46 pm
Drives: 9N3
Location: London

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by SnoopyD » Mon Jun 29, 2020 12:00 am

Thanks guys, I was expecting the routing to be a lot harder - I didn't realise there was a hole straight through to that tray!

All working now, but I had some issues. The Connects2 CTSVW002.2 made a hissing noise on install then never produced a switched live (although saw other forum users had issues with it too so should've expected it). I've got a CTHUP-VW01 coming this week so hopefully that'll actually provide CAN BUS functionality. In the meantime I'm running a 'dumb' Quadlock to ISO harness of which I spliced the switched live into the permanent live.

However, for Android Auto I need to ground the parking brake sensor. Would it be okay to splice this into the ground of the adapter harness, rather than to a mounting point somewhere? I'm trying to work out whether there's any reason this would be a bad idea? I measured a ~3.1V difference between the parking brake and black ground cable (vs 12.5V between live and ground), but the parking break's only looking for a signal so shouldn't be providing any extra current which would overload the cable, right?

PugBrothers
Getting There!
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:15 am
Drives: Mk7 (9n3) 1.4Tdi Bluemotion 1
Location: Bristol

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by PugBrothers » Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:45 pm

That’s what I did and it worked fine for me. Hopefully smarter people than me agree that’s the best way forward!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SnoopyD
New
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 1:46 pm
Drives: 9N3
Location: London

Re: Show me your head unit

Post by SnoopyD » Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:43 pm

PugBrothers wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:45 pm
That’s what I did and it worked fine for me. Hopefully smarter people than me agree that’s the best way forward!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Great, good to know it's a viable option.

My Connects2 CTHUP-VW01 arrived and seems to be working well on my '07 9N3 (after reconnecting it once to get it to register). The handbrake wire on it works well with Android Auto too.

It has a couple of weird quirks in that connecting to Android Auto seems to cause dark mode to be auto-engaged, and unplugging the key doesn't auto-disable the switched live but requires manual powering off of the HU.

Great to have it all working now though. Very happy with the XAV-AX100 too (will edit with a pic tomorrow!)

Post Reply