6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Sun Jan 22, 2017 4:23 pm

Yes.
I suppose in this sale will be included all the wires you'll need, including Trip Computer wires. Ask before buying.

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Fri Jan 27, 2017 3:37 pm

Hi all!

I got the stalks and wires from "kufatec" and wires are bit different what I saw somewhere on forum :/

@ciclo I found your pic from your sale, and I put my wires which I get. (maybe difference is because model pre 2012 and after?)
Image

Image
44 (one is for BCM A -braze on, and one with pin is for BCM B)

Image
I figured out why there is few different pins (picture description)

https://www.pdf-archive.com/2017/01/27/ ... -englisch/

In attachment are pictures and Manuals for installing from "Kufatec"

And I didn't get Trip Computer wires and power wire. (I'll buy and make them for Trip Computer just in case if there isn't build in, but don't know what about Power wire? :/ )
Coding is same as in manual for VCDS?

Any advice would be helpful! :/

User avatar
iichel
Platinum Member
Posts: 1914
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: 6R becoming 6C. slowly.
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by iichel » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:30 am

the one with the red square is a micro quadlock system.

as far as I know, all terminals of the wiring loom are this type (stalks, ECU, BCM).

User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:00 am

A quick study based on your image (sorry :) ):

Image

Image

Useful link

VCDS

Engine
Image

BCM
Image

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:03 pm

Thank you ciclo! : )

That's VCDS for Cruise control, and for Trip Computer? :/

Here is the picture of my fuse box it is almost empty xD :(
Image

Thank you so much for helping me, I red all posts in this topic but it is hard to figured what will be best to do with my wires :/

User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:18 pm

:arrow: viewtopic.php?f=56&t=65096#p489673 (again)

Image

5Amp fuse

Remove fusebox
Image

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:40 pm

@ciclo

So you suggest to wire 44 fit into slot 10 in Fuse box with 5Amp, and I'll need then this JPT "female" connector for that. Thank you!

I'm sorry about MFD, didn't notice that is on link on previous page in your post :shock: :(

One more time, Thank you! I will start with installing this week, and I hope everything will be 0k! : )

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Wed Feb 08, 2017 4:46 pm

Hi everyone! :)

I didn't install cruise control yet because I had chicken pox :/ :D Well... better not to have it when you are old :/

Nevermind...
Have one question, at what Nm steering wheel must be tighten? That's one, let say, important thing :)

User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:19 pm


User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:13 am

Hi Ciclo!

Thank you for manuals! But... it is hard connect this wire inside, alot wires around :/ is possibe from front connect over some other existing fuse?

And one more help need, Where can wire for ECU pull inside engine space, cannot find any hole :/ I tried push some firm wire inside where bonnet wire goes but cannot find it inside, don't have space for hand.

Another time I will think if will do something like this again :D :(

User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:37 pm

For the fuse box:
Look at the images shown in this guide :arrow: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2nv91 ... sp=sharing

For the wire through firewall: (thanks to firegrafik)
Image
Image

Draw your own conclusions and use the workshop manual to remove the required parts.
S0K0L wrote: Another time I will think if will do something like this again :D :(
Image :lol:

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Sat Feb 11, 2017 2:06 pm

Ok!

Wire is installed, I pull it trough hole of wire for bonnet opening, it was tricky but succesful! :D I'll put pictures another day where exactly

So you tell it is better to install wire somehow in fusebox from behind... hm hm

Thank you, will try! :)

User avatar
S0K0L
New
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:12 am
Drives: Polo 6R - 2009
Location: Krizevci-Croatia

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by S0K0L » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi all! :D

Again me and my problems.... :(

After installing new stalks, and turning car on, everything works on new stalks except first speed wipers!?

Cruise control is not yet installed because I looking for JPT female pin for Fuse Box, The one I bought is not good, a bit small...

Back to the wipers problem, after this conclusion it doesn't work on first speed I installed back old stalks, and after turning car on it was same problem, again first speed not working, well I was a bit scared what did I do now. I looked at fuse box, pressing all fuses to right place and one was not in good position, after that I turned on car again and somehow wipers are working at first speed.

I'm not sure if the problem was in fuse box or problem maybe is in new stalks, maybe car 'pulled' information from new stalks for automatic turn on when rain starts, and when I put back again old stalks, car remembered info from new stalk for automatic turnin on.

After second ignitioning of car, wipers at first speed worked well, but don't know if the problem was in fusebox or the car 'pulled' back old information for old stalks? :/

I'll put again new stalks tomorrow and will see if the problem will be the same. :/

Very confusing situation for me, but as I'm a always bad luck man, didn't expect it will goneverything well with this installation :D

Yes, sorry for bad english :(

Cheers!!

User avatar
iichel
Platinum Member
Posts: 1914
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: 6R becoming 6C. slowly.
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by iichel » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:31 pm

the stalks are purely mechanical, they don't have a brain or a memory. 1st position is the 'automatic' setting, if you have the rain sensor

User avatar
ciclo
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3273
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:20 am
Drives: 6R TSI R-line ☺ '13
Location: Earth ♥, Spain ☼
Contact:

Re: 6R Cruise Control Retrofit Problems

Post by ciclo » Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:28 pm

S0K0L wrote:Hi all! :D

Again me and my problems.... :(

After installing new stalks, and turning car on, everything works on new stalks except first speed wipers!?
Only the first wiper speed? ... :lol:

T41 a common fail, perhaps too common... :wink: :twisted:

Image :mrgreen:

Post Reply