Needle sweep

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
spacewalker
Getting There!
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:39 am
Drives: Just a VW
Location: PL

Re: Needle sweep

Post by spacewalker » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:04 pm

Ugabista wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:45 pm
can you give more information about this?
I have the vag programmer and the vag commander + editor hex xvi32.
Do you know witch hexadecimal field changes?
post epp and i will do this

User avatar
Ugabista
Bronze Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:14 pm
Drives: Vw Polo 6R 1.6TDI 90CV CAYB
Location: Portugal

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Ugabista » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:31 pm

spacewalker wrote:
Ugabista wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:45 pm
can you give more information about this?
I have the vag programmer and the vag commander + editor hex xvi32.
Do you know witch hexadecimal field changes?
post epp and i will do this
Thanks for your availability! Image
I'm not getting into eeprom with the Vag Programmer or with the Vag Commander.
In another car i have to get in with both of them.
The message that appears.
ImageImageImageImage
What could it be?Image

Edit:
My cable
ImageImageImage

Chip FTDI

ImageImageImage

Everything seems good to me

spacewalker
Getting There!
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:39 am
Drives: Just a VW
Location: PL

Re: Needle sweep

Post by spacewalker » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:26 pm

Ugabista wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:31 pm
Everything seems good to me
foregive me , but You must be blind.

1st - KKL is not a device for cluster memory access , is a diagnostic tool only
2nd - KKL is a VAG COM 4.9 for cars w/o CAN (only for K-line)

so ...nothing is good

2 options -
1) buy a EPP clip + EPP reader (20-30$) and read EPP via CLIP
2) invest 500-1000€ for device supporting cluster read via OBD2

User avatar
Ugabista
Bronze Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:14 pm
Drives: Vw Polo 6R 1.6TDI 90CV CAYB
Location: Portugal

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Ugabista » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:29 pm

spacewalker wrote:
Ugabista wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:31 pm
Everything seems good to me
foregive me , but You must be blind.

1st - KKL is not a device for cluster memory access , is a diagnostic tool only
2nd - KKL is a VAG COM 4.9 for cars w/o CAN (only for K-line)

so ...nothing is good

2 options -
1) buy a EPP clip + EPP reader (20-30$) and read EPP via CLIP
2) invest 500-1000€ for device supporting cluster read via OBD2
https://youtu.be/7FxDKd0zt1I
Same cable, in car with canbus.

All you needed to say was that these programs and cable are not good for reading the eeproms of these cars!

This give?
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2351913821



spacewalker
Getting There!
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:39 am
Drives: Just a VW
Location: PL

Re: Needle sweep

Post by spacewalker » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:44 pm

Ugabista wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:29 pm
https://youtu.be/7FxDKd0zt1I
Same cable, in car with canbus.

All you needed to say was that these programs and cable are not good for reading the eeproms of these cars!

This give?
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2351913821
Seems for you is no different beetwen 1998 VW and 2007 VW
also K-line, CAN 1,6, CAN 2.0 ...is magic

User avatar
Ugabista
Bronze Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:14 pm
Drives: Vw Polo 6R 1.6TDI 90CV CAYB
Location: Portugal

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Ugabista » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:06 am

spacewalker wrote:
Ugabista wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:29 pm
https://youtu.be/7FxDKd0zt1I
Same cable, in car with canbus.

All you needed to say was that these programs and cable are not good for reading the eeproms of these cars!

This give?
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2351913821
Seems for you is no different beetwen 1998 VW and 2007 VW
also K-line, CAN 1,6, CAN 2.0 ...is magic
I'm glad you're a savvy and know everything, I do not know what you're doing in the forums....write a book!
Image

User avatar
Ugabista
Bronze Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:14 pm
Drives: Vw Polo 6R 1.6TDI 90CV CAYB
Location: Portugal

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Ugabista » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:08 am

Guys, what program do you advise to read eeprom? This give?
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre ... 2351913821

User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: kessiichel is everywhere :)

Re: Needle sweep

Post by iichel » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:18 pm

I used to use the EZP2013.

24C64 EEPROM
Download EEPROM
Offset 0x66
Take the hex value
Make binary
Set bit 5 to 1
Save
Upload EEPROM to IC
Set needle sweep in the adaptation channels

User avatar
Ugabista
Bronze Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:14 pm
Drives: Vw Polo 6R 1.6TDI 90CV CAYB
Location: Portugal

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Ugabista » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:21 pm

iichel wrote:I used to use the EZP2013.

24C64 EEPROM
Download EEPROM
Offset 0x66
Take the hex value
Make binary
Set bit 5 to 1
Save
Upload EEPROM to IC
Set needle sweep in the adaptation channels
Thanks friend ImageImage

benzinkopf
Gold Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 4:01 pm
Drives: 1.2TSI 105HP DSG7
Location: Malaysia

Re: Needle sweep

Post by benzinkopf » Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:53 pm

iichel wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:18 pm
I used to use the EZP2013.

24C64 EEPROM
Download EEPROM
Offset 0x66
Take the hex value
Make binary
Set bit 5 to 1
Save
Upload EEPROM to IC
Set needle sweep in the adaptation channels
I did mine the same way. Then, the Needle Sweep activated directly after that without setting in the adaptation channel and later, both staging and indicator celebration still not available, but needle sweep does work. anything i missed here?

User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: kessiichel is everywhere :)

Re: Needle sweep

Post by iichel » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:16 pm

maybe my memory is failing me

spacewalker
Getting There!
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:39 am
Drives: Just a VW
Location: PL

Re: Needle sweep

Post by spacewalker » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:33 pm

benzinkopf wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:53 pm
iichel wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:18 pm
I used to use the EZP2013.

24C64 EEPROM
Download EEPROM
Offset 0x66
Take the hex value
Make binary
Set bit 5 to 1
Save
Upload EEPROM to IC
Set needle sweep in the adaptation channels
I did mine the same way. Then, the Needle Sweep activated directly after that without setting in the adaptation channel and later, both staging and indicator celebration still not available, but needle sweep does work. anything i missed here?
pod EPP or screen from line 66

Jay-Jay
Bronze Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Drives: Polo 6R HighLine 1.2 TSI 105cv
Location: Rome (Italy)

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Jay-Jay » Sat Sep 22, 2018 6:33 pm

I resume this thread, because today I tried to activate staging on my old instrument cluster (2010).
I have 2 clusters:
- my old original MFA cluster (2010);
- GTI MFA+ cluster (2011).
On both of them I can't activate the staging via VCDS ("Channel not available").

So today I tried modifing the eeprom of my old cluster.
I did exactly like iicheel wrote few posts ago, but the staging doesn't work.
I tried the instrument cluster off of the car, on the bench.
Could it be that I need to try it on the car?

Before modifing the eeprom on the GTI cluster, I make all the tries on the old one.

EdgardoRodriguez
Getting There!
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:31 pm
Drives: other
Location: Argentina

Re: Needle sweep

Post by EdgardoRodriguez » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:14 pm

Byte 66 bit 5 directly enables Needle sweep.
Byte 2E7 but don't remember, enables vcds adaptation, if you wish I can tell you which bit.


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk

Jay-Jay
Bronze Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 6:02 pm
Drives: Polo 6R HighLine 1.2 TSI 105cv
Location: Rome (Italy)

Re: Needle sweep

Post by Jay-Jay » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:32 pm

Thank you for your answer.

Yes, I also modified Offset 2E7 (bit 6 from 0 to 1): this enables the activation via VCDS.

When I switch on the cluster on the bench, the staging doesn't work.
But I still didn't tried the cluster on the car.


What is wrong? :/

Post Reply