How reliable is the Mk5 GTI

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
Rangersmith
New
Drives: VW Polo 1.4 GT

How reliable is the Mk5 GTI

Post by Rangersmith »

Hello

I'm thinking of buying a used GTI with manual gearbox. I've done a couple of test drives last year on it and liked it.
What is it like for reliability? how easy is it live with? anything to avoid be cautious of?
SRGTD
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: 2020 AW Polo GTI+, Pure White.

Re: How reliable is the Mk5 GTI

Post by SRGTD »

Hi Rangersmith.

By mk5, do you mean the outgoing Polo model - the 6r/6c that was produced 2009 - 2017? I’m assuming you do, as I’ve just seen your post on the mk10 (new Polo) board.

I’ve had my 6c (16 plate) Polo GTI almost 2 years (collected it on 1st March 2016). I’m a low mileage driver - I’ve done just a shade under 12,000 miles in 23.5 months. In that time, my car has been trouble free and has only been back to the dealer for it’s 12 month service last March.

I find it performs and handles well, and the fuel consumption is pretty good too; I can get 38-40 mpg pretty easily, although that will be influenced by the congested roads I drive on, so driving well within the UK speed limits. If you find a car with the optional Sports Performance Pack (I have this option) the ride is pretty firm in Sport mode. In normal mode, it’s on the firm side, but (in my opinion) it’s not uncomfortable; I do tend to leave mine in normal mode pretty much all the time. I would say it’s much easier to live with on a day to day basis and less hard core than, say a Fieats ST.

I find the interior is quite similar to my previous car (mk6 Golf) in terms of quality of materials used. Mine seems to be well screwed together and doesn’t suffer from creaks or rattles, although some forum members have had issues with creaky or rattling trim.

Negatives or issues;