Link between engine light and faulty stop/start function?

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
Post Reply
karin1980
New
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:24 pm
Drives: 2014 1.0L
Location: Newcastle

Link between engine light and faulty stop/start function?

Post by karin1980 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 2:31 pm

Hi all,
I basically know nothing about cars so looking for some advice / help here! I have a 2014 Polo. A few months ago the engine light came on and I took it to the garage who did a diagnostic but found a "woolly" fault code. As the car was running normally, they switched the light off but it came back on the next day. I've been driving it with the light on for about 2-3 months now without any issues, however I realise this needs to get fixed! Today it has its annual service and the diagnostics showed another fault code. The STOP/START system has been inactivated / faulty continuously since the engine light came on.

Does anybody know what could be the problem and do you have any recommendations what I can do? Stating the obvious I'd like to avoid spending lots of money on this! Appreciate your thoughts and any ideas?

Karin

User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3057
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: kessiichel is everywhere :)

Re: Link between engine light and faulty stop/start function?

Post by iichel » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:34 pm

Without knowing the exact error code, it's virutally impossible to even send you roughly in the correct direction.
If an error code is present and 'active', it will very often stop the stop/start system from working.

RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 3525
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 9:12 pm
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110
Location: Mid Lothian

Re: Link between engine light and faulty stop/start function?

Post by RUM4MO » Fri Sep 14, 2018 9:01 pm

As above, you need to hand over more info, I'm surprised that your dealer did not either repair this with your consent or at lease supply you with a quote to repair that issue and outlined what the issue was, which should have included the stored fault code(s).

Post Reply