Retrofitting Reverse Camera to 2016 Polo 6c Match

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
FiftyPlus
New
Drives: Polo 6C Bluemotion "Match" 2016

Retrofitting Reverse Camera to 2016 Polo 6c Match

Post by FiftyPlus »

Hello all
New here so apologies if this subject is already covered. I searched the forum but found nothing directly relevant.

Recently got a 2016 Polo 6C for my eldest to start driving in. Found a lovely spec with low miles. It include Front & Rear PDC, Sat Nav, Auto lights/ wipers. All in all a great car.

One option it did not have was a reversing camera. As there will be lots of city driving & parking it's a real plus, and a safety benefit.
I have some experience of VCDS and have it from previous cars so a little bit aware of how the systems work.

This seems to be the camera: it locates over the number plate. £209
http://vagtec.co.uk/eshop/genuine-volks ... lo-6c.html

VCDS coding (On a Tiguan, but should be similar)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dqPC8-mYFE

a few queries:
Anyone do this, does it work?

This mentions static guidelines. Were moving guidelines ever there on the POLO RVC ( Reversing Camera)

EDIT. The clips shows that the guidelines never moved.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMC_1gRnaco

Thanks!
Hugh
RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110

Re: Retrofitting Reverse Camera to 2016 Polo 6c Match

Post by RUM4MO »

I'd think that if you are okay with fitting cabling and maybe removing/fitting pins in connectors as well as being able to use VCDS, I'd think that you could do this upgrade very easily.

Not sure why the youtuber had not worked out how to increase the size of the VCDS screens on their laptop though!

I retrofitted front PDS and so OPS to my 2011 Audi S4 as well as changing the radio from nonDAB to DAB and all the associated wiring and coding keeping every thing same as it would have been if fitted at the factory.