Engine overheating...thermostat changed???

Chat about your MKIV (6N) Polo
mmh
Silver Member

Engine overheating...thermostat changed???

Post by mmh »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Polo's so any advice would be great.

The other day I drove my car for 10mins and suddenly the temp gauge needle went over 110 and the temp warning light started flashing on the dash.

Today drove it again same thing happened.

The coolant has gone high over max. the fan has not come on and the lower radiator hose was cold whilst the top hose was v.hot.

The thermostat was replaced with a new one today and it was fine the fan cutting in when needed.

Then the overheating started to happen again on the way home with the same symptoms.

Could anyone advise me on what it could be causing this? This is my 1st car and I'm quite worried :(

Cheers,
Mo.
1.6GL 1999
ModifiedMadness
Sponsor

Post by ModifiedMadness »

One possibility may be a split water hose?
mysteryboy
Bling Bling Diamond Member

Post by mysteryboy »

Sounds exactly like the problem I had... ended up being the head gasket
tupac2makaveli71
Silver Member

Post by tupac2makaveli71 »

or the radiator could be blocked so its not cooling properly? correct me if im wrong, but if the bottom is not getting hto then its not doing a good job cleaning so maybe you could flush it and get some kinda cleaner for it?
mmh
Silver Member

Post by mmh »

Hi,

There's no mayo in the oil and the car drives fine.

There's no sign of water leaking anywhere so I don't think it's a split hose.

The blockage in the radiator could be a possibility to investigate.

The car is low mileage under 40k so I hope its's not a head gasket, also there is no white smoke out the rear.

Someone suggested to me a broken thermostat housing or something like that... anyone had this problem?

Cheers, Mo
mysteryboy

Post by mysteryboy »

mmh wrote:
Someone suggested to me a broken thermostat housing or something like that... anyone had this problem?

Cheers, Mo