Handbrake

Chat about your 2018+ AW/BZ model Polos here!
Pololass
New
Drives: SE1.0 TSI 95 Manual

Handbrake

Post by Pololass »

Ok. I know I have hill start but this was a very steep hill and I'm new to this modern technology ( had a 2004 Golf before the Polo) so I pulled the handbrake on. I've noticed that even on a slight incline I have to give it an extra yank but the car rolled back even after that. Luckily the hill start could cope with it but surely the handbrake should still hold or am I missing something?
The car is a TSI 95 SE 1.0 manual. We've had it about 4 weeks and done 350 miles
silverhairs
Gold Member
Drives: 2018 Polo SEL

Re: Handbrake

Post by silverhairs »

If you have to give the hand brake an extra tug just to hold it on a slight incline it sounds like it requires adjustment. When you pull the hand brake, how many clicks can you hear when pulling it up?
If it's a 95 SE you have drum brakes, at the rear. though you've done only 350 miles, it could have worn off all the high spots and the rears requires adjusting, if you yank up the hand brake while doing about 30 MPH can you feel it really slowing you down?, if on gravel, it should lock up the back wheels.
Take it back and get a mechanic to try it out, if they do MOT testing, they can put it on the rollers that they use to do the MOT's on.
RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110

Post by RUM4MO »

95PS new Polo not having rear discs, that is odd as the previous Polo 90PS did have rear discs at least in some versions so I'd expect in all 90PS and above.
iichel
Drives: Polo 6R 2.0 TDI, Passat B8 2.0 TSI

Post by iichel »

Can confirm, all petrol engines with exception of 110hp and GTI will have rear drums
RUM4MO

Post by RUM4MO »

Oh, progress.
Pololass
New

Post by Pololass »