Sat-Nav up-dates ?

Chat about your 2018+ AW/BZ model Polos here!
silverhairs
Gold Member
Drives: 2018 Polo SEL

Sat-Nav up-dates ?

Post by silverhairs »

I have a 2018 Polo, I was told that you get free sat-nav up-dates for the first 3 years.
I've gone onto the VW web site and I have to use the original SD card I got with the car.
The thing is, it tells you that you have to delete everything on that SD card first.
Now, I'm no IT expert, and can just get around things on my computer, let alone start deleting the original maps.
I asked the Local VW dealer who services my car, and they came back with "it's complicated thing to do, but we can supply you with a new SD card with the latest maps, BUT it's going to cost you £130.00"
Is there anyone who knows how to safely download up to date maps, without loosing everything on the SD card??

My mate tried it on a normal SD card, but because it had no code on it, the thing wouldn't work.
Noonoo632
Getting There!
Drives: 2020 polo sel 115ps

Re: Sat-Nav up-dates ?

Post by Noonoo632 »

https://youtu.be/_XyFwNZwXO8

Hi there see if this helps step by step guide
Noonoo632
Getting There!

Post by Noonoo632 »

Methods for updating Navigation software.
Discover Navigation and Discover Navigation Pro touch-screen navigation/radio systems include free lifetime navigation software updates. The latest map updates for your navigation system will get you new roads, itineraries and the latest POIs in Europe.

There are a couple of ways you can update your navigation system.

1. Download the full set of data in one go, or choose to download segments from the Volkswagen International Infotainment website . Please note some of the content on this website may not be UK specific, please contact your local Volkswagen Retailer for further information. Full instructions on how to perform the update are also available on the website.

The latest available map packs are available for the following devices;

Discover Pro
Discover Media