New to polo's help help with engine gremlins

Chat about your 9n Polo (inc GT and Fun)
dizzypolo
New
Drives: 9N 1.4 2004 petrol

New to polo's help help with engine gremlins

Post by dizzypolo »

Hi all,

Looking for some help, as I am very new to VAG cars and this is my first Polo.

I have had the car less than 1 week, and have been trying to workout the Gremlins, as it is a 2004,1.4 petrol With 74K on the clock, and the prevoius owner hadnt done hardly any miles in the last year. My car has service history going to about 50K however services after this is unknown.

I have already fixed quite a few problems already such as the 16V socket, Rear wiper wash leaking (Hose was loose), but the biggest SAGA so far started out as Juddering on acceleration, in adition to this the idle was rough and every 10-30 seconds it would misfire. After looking online it seemed that the throttle body is prone to getting clogged, and I removed the entire thing to clean it, and it was absolutely caked. This resolved most of the misfire, however the car was still alittle lumpy, espcially when moving and driving through 2000-2500 revs and trying to accelerate hard.

So the next culprit - I have changed the spark plugs, Using NGK plugs. After this all juddering and misfiring was much better, however initially driving it, didnt feel like it was 100%, After this I filled up I made a point to use Shell fuel instead of basic supermarket stuff.

However tonight the polo had a bit of a relapse. I took her onto the motorway and within 3 miles, after 3000rpm, the car struggled to go past 60Mph, the more I tried, the car seemed to shudder quite badly. Took the car back home, I let it go cold - and went for a drive again. This time there was no judder, car went upto 80-85mph, no issue, then when going on and off slip roads moved through past 3500rpm easy and very smoothly.

I now believe that the problem is one of the following.