Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Discuss In Car Electronics / Electrical Systems - use with caution!
Post Reply
bdasultan
New
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2022 2:26 pm
Drives: VW Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline (2014-15)
Location: India

Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by bdasultan »

Hi there

My car stopped running 2 months ago after going into a pit with dirt and water (it was rainy season). There were lights on dash but nothing else worked.

1. The car didn't start.
2. The power windows, door locks, hazard lights, etc - nothing worked.

I took it to a mechanic who checked for fuses and ECM/BCM and said the BCM is faulty and need to be replaced. I got a new BCM but don't know how to program it?

1. Do I need the old BCM to program the new BCM? Can I do it without the old one?
2. Is there a different problem with the car? (The old BCM didn't have any visible hardware problem).

Thanks a ton!

Car: VW Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline (2014-15 model)
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5565
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by iichel »

Programming BCM on a polo 6c should be done via online connection via odis. So via dealership or someone with online access + odis.
bdasultan
New
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2022 2:26 pm
Drives: VW Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline (2014-15)
Location: India

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by bdasultan »

iichel wrote: Tue Nov 15, 2022 8:32 pm Programming BCM on a polo 6c should be done via online connection via odis. So via dealership or someone with online access + odis.
I bought it in December 2014 with registration certificate received in January 2015. So it was made in early/mid 2014. Wouldn't it be 6R then?
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5565
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by iichel »

Post a picture of your car please.
bdasultan
New
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2022 2:26 pm
Drives: VW Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline (2014-15)
Location: India

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by bdasultan »

iichel wrote: Tue Nov 15, 2022 9:03 pm Post a picture of your car please.
Please find attached.
Attachments
IMG_7600.JPG
IMG_7600.JPG (998.43 KiB) Viewed 191 times
IMG_7601.JPG
IMG_7601.JPG (1.04 MiB) Viewed 191 times
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5565
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by iichel »

Indian Polo 2015 is probably PQ25, yes, so technically 6R.
From my own experience, it's hardly ever the BCM, but from a distance I cannot doubt the diagnosis of your mechanic with any support.
bdasultan
New
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2022 2:26 pm
Drives: VW Polo 1.2 Petrol Highline (2014-15)
Location: India

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by bdasultan »

iichel wrote: Tue Nov 15, 2022 10:06 pm Indian Polo 2015 is probably PQ25, yes, so technically 6R.
From my own experience, it's hardly ever the BCM, but from a distance I cannot doubt the diagnosis of your mechanic with any support.
Yes it also says PQ25 on the BCM. I just need to know how to program this thing. Do you know if I can do it with this generic VCDS Cable and VCDS software?

https://www.amazon.in/Diagnostic-Cable- ... 1235&psc=1
Attachments
old (original)
old (original)
original.jpeg (74.78 KiB) Viewed 180 times
new (used) to be programmed
new (used) to be programmed
new (used) to be programmed.jpeg (208.65 KiB) Viewed 180 times
spacewalker
Bronze Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:39 am
Drives: Just a VW
Location: PL

Re: Polo Won't Start (+ No Lights on Dash)

Post by spacewalker »

Car should start even you use brand new bcm.
Then focus on coding, errors etc
Post Reply