Help with 6C GTI

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
benhowarth6
Bronze Member

Help with 6C GTI

Post by benhowarth6 »

Hello!

It's been a while since I've been on here, I use to own a 6R GTI but moved onto something else after too many issues. However I've been offered a good deal on a new 6C GTI and I'm considering a move back.

The dilemma I have is choosing manual or DSG. I loved the DSG in the 6R and I've been driving a manual for 3 years now but considering I spend a good amount of time in traffic I'm considering getting a DSG again. As the torque figures are different for both the manual and DSG are there any noticeable differences when driving or does the DSG make up for it with the faster changes?

Also my first 6R GTI did have a few issues with the DSG not selecting gears have they improved the new box at all?

Thanks for your help guys!

Ben
Guy
Bronze Member
Drives: GTI

Re: Help with 6C GTI

Post by Guy »

I have a 6C GTI with the manual box. I find that all my overtaking manoeuvres can be done in one gear - third if in a hurry or fourth if not. Third would potentially allow the 70 mph limit to be exceeded by a very illegal margin. And single carriageway A roads are restricted to 60mph or less.

The torque curve on the 1.8 engine with the manual box is quoted as 320 Nm flat from 1450 rpm to 4200 rpm. For the DSG box it is 250Nm from 1250-5300rpm.

So the in-gear torque of the manual car's engine is 28% higher than for the automatic over most of the rev range. I haven't driven a DSG but I would expect that to be quite a noticeable difference and in fact some road tests I've seen have said the same.

On a standing start acceleration test the DSG may be as quick or quicker by virtue of its near instantaneous changes. But for typical A road driving where overtaking, apart from an initial change down which anyway can often be preselected in advance of commencing the manoeuvre, I suspect the manual is the faster.
rm55mcc
Silver Member
Drives: Polo 1.4