Horn Problem

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
Post Reply
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

Hey guys,
I have a question to the horn: Is it in every model of the Polo 6R ground-switched? Or are existing exceptions?

My Problem:
- Fuses are fine also the wish-water fuse
- Horn is working, if I connect it directly to the battery
- The Relay in the Interiour is clicking by pushing the horn
- I am having two cables on the socket for the horn in the engine room, a brown and a black/ yellow one. If I connect a Voltage Meter to the + of the Battery and the brown cable, I am measuring 12V without pushing the horn button. I think this should not be, if the horn is ground-switched. Any Ideas?

Thanks.
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5438
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Horn Problem

Post by iichel »

Horn is not ground switched but the + is switched.
CarbonChaos
Silver Member
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:43 pm
Drives: 2015 6C GTI DSG Oryx white 3 door.
Location: South west uk

Re: Horn Problem

Post by CarbonChaos »

Solid brown is always earth/ground on vw, the other wire is the signal/feed from the switch indirectly
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Re: Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

Thanks for the answers.

One more question:

The Facts again:
1. Both horns are working if I connect them with seperate cables directly to the battery.
2. I am measuring at the two cables for the horn +12V if I press the button for the horn and ground always.
3. If the horn is connected normally to the car, like it should be from VW, by pressing the button for the horn, the Relay is just making once a click sound. Then I have to turn off an on the ignition again and it clicks once again when I press the button. By pushing the button a secound time, the Relay does not click.
4. If I now disconnect the horn from the car, the Relay is clicking every time when I push the button for the horn.

The question:
Could it be that the resistor of the horn is now lower than it was when the car was new? And is there a control unit, checking the current through the horn, and thinking there is a short circuit and disconnecting the horn?
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5438
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Horn Problem

Post by iichel »

Just because you measure 12v doesn't necessarily mean that the wire is ok. You should load test your wire to assure that the wire is capable of carrying the current. You can try to connect a 15 or 21 watt light bulb to the horn connector.
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Re: Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

I think you are right. Is it a default problem at the 6R, a special corner, where the cable bricks?
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5438
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Horn Problem

Post by iichel »

Not really for this position
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Re: Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

Just because you measure 12v doesn't necessarily mean that the wire is ok. You should load test your wire to assure that the wire is capable of carrying the current. You can try to connect a 15 or 21 watt light bulb to the horn connector.
It seems that you are right.


One more question:
The red marked Relay seems to be the Relay for the horn. When I press the horn this relay clicks.
VCDS says:

Code: Select all

03591 - Ansteuerung Signalhorn 
            012 - elektrischer Fehler im Stromkreis
             Umgebungsbedingungen:
                    Fehlerstatus: 01101100
                    Fehlerpriorität: 3
                    Fehlerhäufigkeit: 1
                    Verlernzähler: 164
                    Kilometerstand: 207858 km
                    Zeitangabe: 0
                    Datum: 2063.14.31
                    Zeit: 13:05:14
Do you think that my central electric controller is damaged?





Image
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5438
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Horn Problem

Post by iichel »

Not necessarily. Did you measure continuity of the wire, any short to plus and short to GND? Is the fuse OK? Did you actually measure 12V on the input pin on the BCM plug?
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Re: Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

Thaks for the answer.
Did you measure continuity of the wire, any short to plus and short to GND?
No, if I measure between the two cables of the horn(brown and a black/ yellow one), I measure infinity Ohm. To the brown one ond GND of the cehicle 0 Ohm.
Is the fuse OK?
Fuses ar both fine. The fuse for the horn and the wish water fuse.
Did you actually measure 12V on the input pin on the BCM plug?
0 Volt if the button for the horn is not pushed, 9 Volt if the button is pressed. Should be 12 Volt, I know.
User avatar
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Posts: 5438
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:14 pm
Drives: Polo 6R 1.2 TDI
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Horn Problem

Post by iichel »

Yes but the fuse is also going to the BCM. From the BCM it will go to the horn. What are you measuring, under load as said earlier, on the pin that goes from the fuse to the BCM? T73a/73?
quiddi
New
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2021 10:56 pm
Drives: Polo 6R
Location: Germany

Re: Horn Problem

Post by quiddi »

Srr. my Horn is working again. But I do not know why. I will write in 6 weeks to this post if it is still working. I think it is just a random effect.
What are you measuring, under load as said earlier, on the pin that goes from the fuse to the BCM? T73a/73?
The horn was pluged off. I was measuring on the fuse which are you describing above. Measured on both sides 12V. I was thinking, seems good. Let's give is a try. Plugged in the horn and it was working.

Thanks a lot for your help. And as I told. I will keep you guys up to date in a few weeks.
Post Reply