Help please - undertray removal nightmare trying to service (had to destroy 2 fixings to remove)

Chat about your 2018+ AW/BZ model Polos here!
mowen
New
Drives: Polo 1.0L TSI Match (2020)

Help please - undertray removal nightmare trying to service (had to destroy 2 fixings to remove)

Post by mowen »

Hi all,

This is my first post on here following an attempt to service my 2020 Polo Match (1.0L Match) yesterday - it might sound like an overreaction, but the nightmare all arises from 2 fixings/clips on the undertray. The actual engine service itself was easy, it was gaining access to the engine that proved the hard part.

Now I'm no newbie to servicing my own cars and working on cars, and in the last 15 years of servicing cars (including cambelt changes, clutch changes etc) I've never encountered such a difficult car to work on...and all I was doing was a simple oil change and air filter change. It was not a pleasure to work on, it feels like VW have made it as difficult as possible to do everything.

Anyway, I was hoping someone could help me identify what kind of fixing was giving me so much grief.

I started by jacking the car up and placing it on axle stands before proceeding to remove the undertray (so that I could gain access to the sump plug and the oil filter). I was surprised to find there were different types of fixings for the undertray in the first place - it's only a plastic cover, so why complicate things with 3 different types of fixings. Anyway, I removed the 9 T25 Torx screws, and then the 3 bigger T45 Torx screws. I tried to remove the undertray and then realised it was still attached right at the back, by 2 other fixings. These 2 fixings were plastic, rather than metal like the Torx screws I'd already removed at this point.