New alloy wheels

Chat about your MKIV (6N) Polo
Mint
Bronze Member

New alloy wheels

Post by Mint »

As some of you may know, and for those of you who dont, im new to the car scene and my current polo is my first car. Today i paid a visit to my local motorworld store and purchased some alloy wheels. I would like your opinions as to whether you think they will blend nicely with a metallic green polo, or whether im making a mistake. They should be ready for pickup on Thursday or Friday.

Here is the link to the exact ones. http://www.motor-world.co.uk/kroozin/sh ... od_id=9683

Thanks for your advice. I've also enquired about some clear indicators and side repeaters on the VAG Parts section of this forum. I think this is all i will be doing to it though as it is my first car... do you think it is wise to modify it?
dragon_green
Gold Member

Post by dragon_green »

hi,

if you do modify your car, make sure to declare everything to your insurance company - if you do make a claim, they will try to get out of paying you if at all possible!

i guess the other thing you might worry about is the value of the car when you do come to sell it. the best idea here is to only do things that can be reversed (and keep the original parts if possible) so that when you do sell up, you can revert the car to it's original condition.

a modded car will attract more attention - an alarm or stoplock might be a good idea too.
Mint
Bronze Member

Post by Mint »

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. In terms of modifications, i only intend to add these new alloy wheels, clear indicators and clear repeaters. I class these as 'mods' but i'm not sure they actually are as they dont change the behaviour of the car. I take your point on my insurance. Do you think ill still have to declare if i only have 3rd party cover?