electric windows working on there own ?!?!?!?

Chat about your 9n Polo (inc GT and Fun)
deejon
New

electric windows working on there own ?!?!?!?

Post by deejon »

gooday all im a newbie to the polo scene, ive just brought the missus a 52 plate polo sdi . we woke up this mornin to the windows wide open, not a good thing when it was raining all night !!! the doors were still locked and luckily the stereo was still there .but last night it was all locked up windows shut and everything, just wondering if anyone had ever had this problem or know for any reason why it would happen ? thanks Deejon
M7
Gold Member

Post by M7 »

thats called total closure.
im guessing you have remote central locking?

if you hold down unlock for a number of seconds the electric windows will drop. then if you hold lock for a number of seconds the windows will close.
same thing also happens when putting the key into the door lock, twisting and holding.
pretty stupid idea on vw's as all it takes is a theif to know this and ram a screwdriver in the lock and twist
dino
Sponsor

Post by dino »

M7 wrote:thats called total closure.

if you hold down unlock for a number of seconds the electric windows will drop. then if you hold lock for a number of seconds the windows will close.
same thing also happens when putting the key into the door lock, twisting and holding.
pretty stupid idea on vw's as all it takes is a theif to know this and ram a screwdriver in the lock and twist
I wish mine did it on the remote!

Although this doesn't help with your question!
mjmills
Bronze Member

Post by mjmills »

can you not vag-com it?
vwpolo16v
Bronze Member

Post by vwpolo16v »

M7 wrote:thats called total closure.

Total closure from a remote NOT a feature on UK polos. I wish it was.