stalling problem with 98 polo

Chat about your MKIV (6N) Polo
htid
New

stalling problem with 98 polo

Post by htid »

Hi,

My girlfriend has a 1998 polo 1.4cl and quite often the car will stall when you are slowing down or changing down the gears and the little red battery light will flicker on. I've been driving for 9 years by the way and it does it when I drive it too :). Sometimes you will change down from 3rd to 2nd for example and you will feel as if its going to stall and the revs go right down and the red battery light might even flicker on and unless you quickly get it into 2nd and keep the revs up it will just cut out. Now I dont think its the battery as it starts 1st time everytime. So if you are pulling up at a junction and you just have the clutch down and are not in gear it will just stall even though the clutch is down. Any ideas what this might be causing this? Many thanks in advance for your help :)

Also the passenger side electric window just stopped working yesterday :(
alexperkins
Site Admin
Drives: 91 Golf GTI, 01 TT 225, 54 T5 174

Post by alexperkins »

Alternator sounds caput. It would be creating a huge draw when the revs are down, so it makes the engine stall. That is why the battery light is coming on. Get your battery checked out too.
htid
New

Post by htid »

cheers for the advice dude,
NOZ
Platinum Member

Post by NOZ »

Commonly known as 'erratc revs', which you can search in the mk4 section.

There are other possible culprits so do a search and check all the possibilities.
htid
New

Post by htid »

Yer I have been searching, didn't you have the same problem too?
ejogs
New

Post by ejogs »

hey guys

I have just signed up to this site and have this same problem. I am an absolute newb when it comes to cars so any advice would be much appreciated.
NOZ
Platinum Member

Post by NOZ »

I had the problem 2 years ago when it would happen like once a month then got to the point it was happening all the time.