Buying a Polo - Can you guys help?

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
L880NN
New
Drives: Polo

Buying a Polo - Can you guys help?

Post by L880NN »

Hi All,

I have a budget of 7k max. If I can get a decent polo for 6k with 1k spare to mod then I would be happy.

I have been reading most of the morning, but I need your guys knowledge and expertise as I don't know a lot about engines, all the variations and models of the polos that are available on the market.

Ideally, I would like a new shaped polo with the sport R bumpers I believe they are called (will mod if needed), a reliable engine, 40k max. I have read that the 1.4 Turbo engine has had some problems? Ideally want to get 1.2 - 1.4 engine, ideally the latter, but if the 1.2 engines are more reliable then I would settle for that?

What are your guys thoughts on the advising on the above? Can you point a complete novice in the right direction?

Hoping to be an active member of the community. Thanks for all the threads so far, I have really enjoyed the pics!

Cheers,

Leighton
iichel
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: Polo 6R 2.0 TDI, Passat B8 2.0 TSI

Re: Buying a Polo - Can you guys help?

Post by iichel »

The sports package is called the 'R-Line' package.
It is a set of bumpers, boot spoiler, grill, exhaust tip and rims for the exterior package.
The interior package consists of sports seats, steering wheel, decorative trims in glossy black and a black roofliner.
There are no upgrades or changes to the engine with the R-Line package.

I must admit that the R-Line package looks very good. It's delivered with a comfortline or highline package in the EU, corresponding to a SE resp. SEL package in the UK.
It was delivered from MY2012.

The 1.4 N/A engine is very reliable but does not come from factory with the R-Line package since the 1.4 N/A engine was discontinued in MY2012.
The 1.2 N/A engine is also very reliable but also doesn't come after MY2011.